ismsics3THE INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY OF MANUAL SMALL INCISION CATARACT SURGEONS (ISMSICS) is an organization to promote excellence, accessibility and in cataract surgery. The organization aims to improve outcomes of cataract surgery while providing better vision to patients at an affordable cost. The organization is surgeon focused and surgeon driven- of, for and by cataract surgeons.

ISMSICS is dedicated organization to research and development in the field of cataract surgery, especially manual small incision cataract surgery, to make cataract surgery more accessible, affordable and give patients the best of vision.

Long long ago, Sushruta (India) started suture less and no anesthesia cataract surgery out of compulsion. Now also we are doing suture less and no anesthesia cataract surgery but not out of compulsion- out of choice. Though the concept remains the same the evolution of this method has undergone a quantum change.

The last two decades have witnessed major advances in the techniques of Phacoemulsification. There were also parallel developments in the field of MSICS. In fact MSICS presented more variations in techniques compared to Phacoemulsification. Learning curve for MSICS is more painful, but training programs are very few.

To bridge this gap, ISMSICS was conceived. Surgeons, especially those from underdeveloped and developing countries always felt left out in the machine dominated cataract surgery, now with ISMSICS these surgeons can give expression to their aspirations and achievements.

Phaco surgeons also can look upon MSICS as an additional tool in their armamentarium, which will help them tide over certain tricky situations. ISMSICS has stalwarts from developed as well as developing countries as patrons.

Most of the office bearers are experts in MSICS as well as Phacoemulsification. While the focus of the organization is on manual SICS, we recognize that phacoemulsification with foldable lens is the surgery of choice for many cataract surgeons. The organization strives to have the best of cataract surgery by each technique and not to belittle one or the other.

ISMSICS was born on 30th August 2005 in Mumbai. Dr. Amulya Sahu, at that time President of Bombay Ophthalmologist’s Association became the founder President of ISMSICS.

1st Live surgical International meet on MSICS was held on 30th August 2005 at Wockhardt Hospital Mumbai total eight live surgery of different method of MSICS was presented.

  • To promote quality cataract surgery the world over.
  • To promote cataract surgery techniques that are affordable, accessible and appropriate for the patient’s eye.
  • To train cataract surgeons from all over the world, providing them a common platform for various activities.
  • To promote SICS Surgery amongst practicing Ophthalmologists, students, PGS , teaching hospital etc.
  • To have district level Conference, State, national and international meets. Participate as teachers in international meets like ESCRS ASCRS, AAO etc. interact with state & Central governments, WHO & NGO’s so that they have a better picture of cataract procedures and budgeting advantages.
  • Give certificates to trained surgeons.
  • To give certified teachers certificates .
  • Courses on teaching the teachers.
  • To provide accreditation to establishment for MSICS Surgery.
  • To give wide publicity to this method amongst public, in paper indirectly by articles of public interest.
  • To prepare common brochures, patient literatures, hand outs, CDs etc. to be handed over to patients.
  • To arrange individual training programme all over the country and aboard.
  • To prepare text books and CDs for beginners.
  • To have good web sites and discussion forum.
  • To encourage articles, research etc. to be published in various journals
  • To offer fellowship to youngsters wanting to learn


Dr. Amulya Sahu

Dr. Jagannath Boramani
Vice Chairman

Dr. KPS Malik

Dr. N. S. D. Raju

Dr. Quresh Maskati
Incoming President

Dr. Parikshit Gogate

Dr. Suhas Haldipurkar


  • Dr. Luther I. Fry (USA)
    Dr. Geoffrey Tabin (USA)
    Dr. T. P. Lahane
    Dr. R. D. Ravindran
    Dr. Debasish Bhattacharya
  • Dr. Anil Kulkarni
    Dr. S. Nataranjan
    Dr. Anita Panda
    Dr. B. K. Nayak
    Prof. Dr. K. P. S. Malik

International Co-ordinator

  • Dr. Ashok Garg
    Dr. Rajeev Raut
    Dr. Peter Kansas(USA)
    Dr. Bonnie Henderson (USA)
    Dr. Francisco J Gutierrez-Carmona (Spain)
    Dr. Albrect Henning (Germany)
    Dr. Miguel Sarabia (Phillipines)
    Dr. Kadil Jojo (Phillipines)
    Dr. Johan Hutauruk(Indonesia)
    Dr. Andika Prahasta (Indonesia)
  • Dr. Syumarti (Indonesia)
    Dr. Sharif Aamer (Egypt)
    Dr. Khaled Mansour (Egypt)
    Dr. Sanduk Ruit (Nepal)
    Prof. Dr. Ava Hossain (Bangladesh)
    Prof. Dato Vira Ramani (Malaysia )
    Dr. Amporn Jongserjeet (Thailand )
    Dr. Pipat Kongsap (Thailand)
    Dr. Theeratep Tatyakom (Thailand)
    Dr. Fayaz Khan (Kenya)
    Dr. Donald Tan (Honkong)

National Co-ordinator

  • Dr. Satanshu Mathur
    Prof. Dr. Ragini Parekh
    Dr. Gopal Arora
    Dr. Madhuri Dixit
    Dr. Shekhar Paranjpe
    Dr. S. P. Singh
    Dr. Uma Pradhan
    Dr. BNR Subudhi
    Dr. Tanaji Morey
    Dr. Rajesh Joshi
    Dr. Ashok Nanda
    Dr. Saroj Tripathy
    Dr. Gaurav Luthra
    Dr. Arup Chakravarti
    Dr. Mahesh Dalvi
    Dr. Mazhar Sayed
    Dr. YogeshRajguru
  • Dr. Prasad Walimbe
    Dr. Anil Shah
    Dr. Kamaljeet Singh
    Dr. Ruchi Goel
    Dr. Asim Silver
    Dr. Harsh Bhattacharya.
    Dr. Millind Killedar
    Dr. Baban Dolas
    Dr. Manjiri Malekar-Oak
    Dr. Swapan Samant
    Dr. Bagul
    Dr. Pratyush Ranjan
    Dr. Shirish Thorat
    Dr. Sudhir Singh
    Dr. Umesh Rewanwar
    Dr. Deepak Megur
    Dr. Gayatri Katapali
    Dr. Hemlata

Dr. Kunwar VS Dhaliwal
Editor Journal

Dr. Ranjit Dhaliwal
Web Editor

  • Scientific Advisers

    Dr. Abhay Vasavada
    Dr. Samar Kumar Basak
    Dr. M.S. Ravindra
  • Executive Committee Member

    Dr. Nita Shanbhag
    Dr. Parul Shah
    Dr. Arjun Ahuja